Home / India / Causing death by negligence
Causing death by negligencePossibly — unconfirmed
Reported range, not yet confirmed against official text. Do not rely on this — awaiting confirmation.
Statutory range — reported, not yet confirmed
§ 106(1) — general: rash or negligent act causing deathPossibly — unconfirmed
- Imprisonment
- 0 (no mandatory prison) – 5 years
- Fine
- Fine (amount not stated in section)
0 = the law sets no minimum prison term. The court is not required to impose prison. Depending on the offence, jurisdiction, and case, it may instead impose a non-custodial sentence — e.g. a suspended sentence, community order / probation, a fine, or a discharge.
§ 106(1) — registered medical practitioner, during a medical procedurePossibly — unconfirmed
- Imprisonment
- 0 (no mandatory prison) – 2 years
- Fine
- Fine (amount not stated in section)
0 = the law sets no minimum prison term. The court is not required to impose prison. Depending on the offence, jurisdiction, and case, it may instead impose a non-custodial sentence — e.g. a suspended sentence, community order / probation, a fine, or a discharge.
Explanation defines 'registered medical practitioner' by reference to the National Medical Commission Act, 2019.
§ 106(2) — death by rash and negligent driving, driver escapes without reporting to police / Magistrate — ENACTED BUT NOT IN FORCEPossibly — unconfirmed
- Imprisonment
- 0 (no mandatory prison) – 10 years
- Fine
- Fine (amount not stated in section)
0 = the law sets no minimum prison term. The court is not required to impose prison. Depending on the offence, jurisdiction, and case, it may instead impose a non-custodial sentence — e.g. a suspended sentence, community order / probation, a fine, or a discharge.
Excluded from commencement; do not present as live law.
§ 106(2) (hit-and-run death) is part of the enacted text but was expressly excluded from the 1 July 2024 commencement notification and remains uncommenced — it is shown here as enacted-but-not-in-force, not as live law.