Penalty Info

Home / India / Odisha, India

Odisha, India State law

State law + central baseline (BNS 2023)

0 verified · 16 possibly — unconfirmed · 0 verification pending

Offences by family

Against the person

Assault (aggravated) Possibly — unconfirmed

Possibly — unconfirmed

Reported range, not yet confirmed against official text. Do not rely on this — awaiting confirmation.

Statutory range — reported, not yet confirmed

Central law applies — see India entry Possibly — unconfirmed

Imprisonment
—
Fine
—

No separate state penalty; the central statute governs.

Witch-Hunting Act s. 4(2) — forcing a woman branded as a witch to drink/eat inedible or obnoxious substances, parading her with painted face/body, similar degrading acts, or displacing her from her house Possibly — unconfirmed

Imprisonment
Imprisonment 1–5 years
Fine
Fine (amount not fixed in section)

Imprisonment AND fine.

Witch-Hunting Act s. 7 — 2nd or subsequent offence under the Act Possibly — unconfirmed

Imprisonment
Imprisonment 3–7 years
Fine
Fine minimum ₹10,000 (maximum not stated in section)

Imprisonment AND fine.

Note on this entry

ss. 5 (witchcraft) and 6 (witch-doctor): imprisonment 1–3 years OR fine minimum ₹5,000 — not folded into the tiers above.

Statute
Odisha Prevention of Witch-Hunting Act 2013 ss. 4(2) / 7 + BNS ss. 116–118 (central)
Official source
Indian Kanoon reproduction of Odisha Prevention of Witch-Hunting Act 2013 (non-official)
Verification note
Reported range, not yet confirmed against official text. Figures rest on Act-text reproductions; a direct official-text re-check is still required.
Last verified
2026-10-19
Not legal advice. This range is the statutory penalty as written in the law — it is not “your sentence.” What is NOT accounted for here: Priors, plea, discretion. If you face a real charge, consult a licensed lawyer in the relevant jurisdiction.

Assault (simple) Possibly — unconfirmed

Possibly — unconfirmed

Reported range, not yet confirmed against official text. Do not rely on this — awaiting confirmation.

Statutory range — reported, not yet confirmed

Central law applies — see India entry Possibly — unconfirmed

Imprisonment
—
Fine
—

No separate state penalty; the central statute governs.

Witch-Hunting Act s. 4(1) — witch-hunting (identifying/accusing/defaming a woman as a witch; harassing/harming/injuring her), abetment or provocation Possibly — unconfirmed

Imprisonment
Imprisonment up to 3 years
Fine
Fine minimum ₹1,000 (maximum not stated in section)

Imprisonment OR fine OR both.

Statute
Odisha Prevention of Witch-Hunting Act 2013 s. 4(1) + BNS ss. 114–115 (central)
Official source
Indian Kanoon reproduction of Odisha Prevention of Witch-Hunting Act 2013 (non-official)
Verification note
Reported range, not yet confirmed against official text. Figures rest on Act-text reproductions; a direct official-text re-check is still required.
Last verified
2026-10-19
Not legal advice. This range is the statutory penalty as written in the law — it is not “your sentence.” What is NOT accounted for here: Priors, plea, discretion. If you face a real charge, consult a licensed lawyer in the relevant jurisdiction.

Domestic violence Possibly — unconfirmed

Possibly — unconfirmed

Reported range, not yet confirmed against official text. Do not rely on this — awaiting confirmation.

Statutory range — reported, not yet confirmed

Central law applies — see India entry Possibly — unconfirmed

Imprisonment
—
Fine
—

No separate state penalty; the central statute governs.

Statute
PWDVA 2005 + BNS ss. 85–86
Official source
India Code (central entry — see India file); no separate state penalty located
Verification note
Central-law range — see India entry; direct India Code confirmation still required (India Code direct fetch returned HTTP 403 on 2026-10-19).
Last verified
2026-10-19
Not legal advice. This range is the statutory penalty as written in the law — it is not “your sentence.” What is NOT accounted for here: Priors, plea, discretion. If you face a real charge, consult a licensed lawyer in the relevant jurisdiction.

Homicide — manslaughter Possibly — unconfirmed

Possibly — unconfirmed

Reported range, not yet confirmed against official text. Do not rely on this — awaiting confirmation.

Statutory range — reported, not yet confirmed

Central law applies — see India entry Possibly — unconfirmed

Imprisonment
—
Fine
—

No separate state penalty; the central statute governs.

Statute
BNS ss. 100 / 101 / 105
Official source
India Code (central entry — see India file); no separate state penalty located
Verification note
Central-law range — see India entry; direct India Code confirmation still required (India Code direct fetch returned HTTP 403 on 2026-10-19).
Last verified
2026-10-19
Not legal advice. This range is the statutory penalty as written in the law — it is not “your sentence.” What is NOT accounted for here: Priors, plea, discretion. If you face a real charge, consult a licensed lawyer in the relevant jurisdiction.

Homicide — murder Possibly — unconfirmed

Possibly — unconfirmed

Reported range, not yet confirmed against official text. Do not rely on this — awaiting confirmation.

Statutory range — reported, not yet confirmed

Central law applies — see India entry Possibly — unconfirmed

Imprisonment
—
Fine
—

No separate state penalty; the central statute governs.

Statute
BNS ss. 101 / 103 / 104
Official source
India Code (central entry — see India file); no separate state penalty located
Verification note
Central-law range — see India entry; direct India Code confirmation still required (India Code direct fetch returned HTTP 403 on 2026-10-19).
Last verified
2026-10-19
Not legal advice. This range is the statutory penalty as written in the law — it is not “your sentence.” What is NOT accounted for here: Priors, plea, discretion. If you face a real charge, consult a licensed lawyer in the relevant jurisdiction.

Sexual offences

Sexual assault / rape Possibly — unconfirmed

Possibly — unconfirmed

Reported range, not yet confirmed against official text. Do not rely on this — awaiting confirmation.

Statutory range — reported, not yet confirmed

Central law applies — see India entry Possibly — unconfirmed

Imprisonment
—
Fine
—

No separate state penalty; the central statute governs.

Statute
BNS ss. 63–71
Official source
India Code (central entry — see India file); no separate state penalty located
Verification note
Central-law range — see India entry; direct India Code confirmation still required (India Code direct fetch returned HTTP 403 on 2026-10-19).
Last verified
2026-10-19
Not legal advice. This range is the statutory penalty as written in the law — it is not “your sentence.” What is NOT accounted for here: Priors, plea, discretion. If you face a real charge, consult a licensed lawyer in the relevant jurisdiction.

Property

Burglary Possibly — unconfirmed

Possibly — unconfirmed

Reported range, not yet confirmed against official text. Do not rely on this — awaiting confirmation.

Statutory range — reported, not yet confirmed

Central law applies — see India entry Possibly — unconfirmed

Imprisonment
—
Fine
—

No separate state penalty; the central statute governs.

Statute
BNS ss. 330–331
Official source
India Code (central entry — see India file); no separate state penalty located
Verification note
Central-law range — see India entry; direct India Code confirmation still required (India Code direct fetch returned HTTP 403 on 2026-10-19).
Last verified
2026-10-19
Not legal advice. This range is the statutory penalty as written in the law — it is not “your sentence.” What is NOT accounted for here: Priors, plea, discretion. If you face a real charge, consult a licensed lawyer in the relevant jurisdiction.

Robbery Possibly — unconfirmed

Possibly — unconfirmed

Reported range, not yet confirmed against official text. Do not rely on this — awaiting confirmation.

Statutory range — reported, not yet confirmed

Central law applies — see India entry Possibly — unconfirmed

Imprisonment
—
Fine
—

No separate state penalty; the central statute governs.

Statute
BNS s. 309
Official source
India Code (central entry — see India file); no separate state penalty located
Verification note
Central-law range — see India entry; direct India Code confirmation still required (India Code direct fetch returned HTTP 403 on 2026-10-19).
Last verified
2026-10-19
Not legal advice. This range is the statutory penalty as written in the law — it is not “your sentence.” What is NOT accounted for here: Priors, plea, discretion. If you face a real charge, consult a licensed lawyer in the relevant jurisdiction.

Theft Possibly — unconfirmed

Possibly — unconfirmed

Reported range, not yet confirmed against official text. Do not rely on this — awaiting confirmation.

Statutory range — reported, not yet confirmed

Central law applies — see India entry Possibly — unconfirmed

Imprisonment
—
Fine
—

No separate state penalty; the central statute governs.

Statute
Bharatiya Nyaya Sanhita (BNS) s. 303
Official source
India Code (central entry — see India file); no separate state penalty located
Verification note
Central-law range — see India entry; direct India Code confirmation still required (India Code direct fetch returned HTTP 403 on 2026-10-19).
Last verified
2026-10-19
Not legal advice. This range is the statutory penalty as written in the law — it is not “your sentence.” What is NOT accounted for here: Priors beyond tier, plea, discretion. If you face a real charge, consult a licensed lawyer in the relevant jurisdiction.

Vandalism / criminal damage Possibly — unconfirmed

Possibly — unconfirmed

Reported range, not yet confirmed against official text. Do not rely on this — awaiting confirmation.

Statutory range — reported, not yet confirmed

Central law applies — see India entry Possibly — unconfirmed

Imprisonment
—
Fine
—

No separate state penalty; the central statute governs.

Statute
BNS s. 324
Official source
India Code (central entry — see India file); no separate state penalty located
Verification note
Central-law range — see India entry; direct India Code confirmation still required (India Code direct fetch returned HTTP 403 on 2026-10-19).
Last verified
2026-10-19
Not legal advice. This range is the statutory penalty as written in the law — it is not “your sentence.” What is NOT accounted for here: Priors, plea, discretion. If you face a real charge, consult a licensed lawyer in the relevant jurisdiction.

Fraud & financial

Fraud Possibly — unconfirmed

Possibly — unconfirmed

Reported range, not yet confirmed against official text. Do not rely on this — awaiting confirmation.

Statutory range — reported, not yet confirmed

Central law applies — see India entry Possibly — unconfirmed

Imprisonment
—
Fine
—

No separate state penalty; the central statute governs.

Statute
BNS s. 318
Official source
India Code (central entry — see India file); no separate state penalty located
Verification note
Central-law range — see India entry; direct India Code confirmation still required (India Code direct fetch returned HTTP 403 on 2026-10-19).
Last verified
2026-10-19
Not legal advice. This range is the statutory penalty as written in the law — it is not “your sentence.” What is NOT accounted for here: Priors, plea, discretion. If you face a real charge, consult a licensed lawyer in the relevant jurisdiction.

Drugs

Drug possession Possibly — unconfirmed

Possibly — unconfirmed

Reported range, not yet confirmed against official text. Do not rely on this — awaiting confirmation.

Statutory range — reported, not yet confirmed

Central law applies — see India entry Possibly — unconfirmed

Imprisonment
—
Fine
—

No separate state penalty; the central statute governs.

Statute
NDPS Act ss. 20 / 21 / 22 (prohibition s. 8(c))
Official source
India Code (central entry — see India file); no separate state penalty located
Verification note
Central-law range — see India entry; direct India Code confirmation still required (India Code direct fetch returned HTTP 403 on 2026-10-19).
Last verified
2026-10-19
Not legal advice. This range is the statutory penalty as written in the law — it is not “your sentence.” What is NOT accounted for here: Priors (except s. 31 note), intent, plea, discretion. If you face a real charge, consult a licensed lawyer in the relevant jurisdiction.

Drug trafficking / sale Possibly — unconfirmed

Possibly — unconfirmed

Reported range, not yet confirmed against official text. Do not rely on this — awaiting confirmation.

Statutory range — reported, not yet confirmed

Central law applies — see India entry Possibly — unconfirmed

Imprisonment
—
Fine
—

No separate state penalty; the central statute governs.

Statute
NDPS Act ss. 20 / 21 / 22 / 23 / 24 / 27A
Official source
India Code (central entry — see India file); no separate state penalty located
Verification note
Central-law range — see India entry; direct India Code confirmation still required (India Code direct fetch returned HTTP 403 on 2026-10-19).
Last verified
2026-10-19
Not legal advice. This range is the statutory penalty as written in the law — it is not “your sentence.” What is NOT accounted for here: Priors, intent, plea, discretion. If you face a real charge, consult a licensed lawyer in the relevant jurisdiction.

Weapons

Weapons offences Possibly — unconfirmed

Possibly — unconfirmed

Reported range, not yet confirmed against official text. Do not rely on this — awaiting confirmation.

Statutory range — reported, not yet confirmed

Central law applies — see India entry Possibly — unconfirmed

Imprisonment
—
Fine
—

No separate state penalty; the central statute governs.

Statute
Arms Act 1959 s. 25 (post-2019)
Official source
India Code (central entry — see India file); no separate state penalty located
Verification note
Central-law range — see India entry; direct India Code confirmation still required (India Code direct fetch returned HTTP 403 on 2026-10-19).
Last verified
2026-10-19
Not legal advice. This range is the statutory penalty as written in the law — it is not “your sentence.” What is NOT accounted for here: Priors, plea, discretion. If you face a real charge, consult a licensed lawyer in the relevant jurisdiction.

Traffic & transport

DUI / drink driving Possibly — unconfirmed

Possibly — unconfirmed

Reported range, not yet confirmed against official text. Do not rely on this — awaiting confirmation.

Statutory range — reported, not yet confirmed

Central law applies — see India entry Possibly — unconfirmed

Imprisonment
—
Fine
—

No separate state penalty; the central statute governs.

s. 52(i) — unlawful import/export/transport/manufacture/possession/sale of intoxicant, bottling, distillery, manufacturing materials (other than tari) Possibly — unconfirmed

Imprisonment
Imprisonment 3–7 years
Fine
Fine ₹10,000–₹50,000

Imprisonment AND fine.

s. 52(ii) — tari tapping/drawing; collecting/possessing/selling mohua flower, tari or pachwai Possibly — unconfirmed

Imprisonment
Imprisonment up to 1 year
Fine
Fine up to ₹10,000

Imprisonment AND fine, or fine — wording varies by reproduction.

s. 52 proviso — possessing/selling outstill liquor made from mahua flower, up to 10 litres Possibly — unconfirmed

Imprisonment
Imprisonment 1–2 years
Fine
Fine ₹5,000–₹10,000

Imprisonment AND fine.

s. 54 — contravention of s. 24 Possibly — unconfirmed

Imprisonment
Imprisonment 2–5 years
Fine
Fine ₹10,000–₹25,000

Imprisonment AND fine.

Statute
Odisha Excise Act 2008 ss. 52 / 54 + Motor Vehicles Act 1988 s. 185 (central)
Official source
Odisha Excise Department (official state site) reproduction of Odisha Excise Act 2008 (non-official copy)
Verification note
Reported range, not yet confirmed against official text. Figures rest on Act-text reproductions; a direct official-text re-check is still required.
Last verified
2026-10-19
Not legal advice. This range is the statutory penalty as written in the law — it is not “your sentence.” What is NOT accounted for here: Priors, 3-year window unresolved, plea, discretion. If you face a real charge, consult a licensed lawyer in the relevant jurisdiction.

Cyber & digital

Cybercrime / hacking Possibly — unconfirmed

Possibly — unconfirmed

Reported range, not yet confirmed against official text. Do not rely on this — awaiting confirmation.

Statutory range — reported, not yet confirmed

Central law applies — see India entry Possibly — unconfirmed

Imprisonment
—
Fine
—

No separate state penalty; the central statute governs.

Statute
IT Act 2000 (2008 amendment)
Official source
India Code (central entry — see India file); no separate state penalty located
Verification note
Central-law range — see India entry; direct India Code confirmation still required (India Code direct fetch returned HTTP 403 on 2026-10-19).
Last verified
2026-10-19
Not legal advice. This range is the statutory penalty as written in the law — it is not “your sentence.” What is NOT accounted for here: Priors, plea, discretion. If you face a real charge, consult a licensed lawyer in the relevant jurisdiction.