Penalty Info

Home / United States / South Carolina

South Carolina State law

State law — South Carolina

1 verified · 15 possibly — unconfirmed · 0 verification pending

Offences by family

Against the person

Assault (aggravated) Possibly — unconfirmed

Possibly — unconfirmed

Reported range, not yet confirmed against official text. Do not rely on this — awaiting confirmation.

Statutory range — reported, not yet confirmed

Assault and battery — 1st degree / ABHAN Possibly — unconfirmed

Imprisonment
0–10 years
Fine
Fine not stated

Verify.

Assault and battery — 2nd degree Possibly — unconfirmed

Imprisonment
0–3 years
Fine
Fine not stated

Class A misdemeanour; verify fine.

Note on this entry

Attempted murder (§ 16-3-29): 0–30 years. Assault and battery of a high and aggravated nature (ABHAN, § 16-3-600(C)): 0–10 years (verify).

Statute
S.C. Code Ann. § 16-3-600(C)–(D)
Official source
Secondary summaries (non-official); official re-check needed
Last verified
2026-10-19
Not legal advice. This range is the statutory penalty as written in the law — it is not “your sentence.” What is NOT accounted for here: Priors, plea, discretion. If you face a real charge, consult a licensed lawyer in the relevant jurisdiction.

Assault (simple) Possibly — unconfirmed

Possibly — unconfirmed

Reported range, not yet confirmed against official text. Do not rely on this — awaiting confirmation.

Statutory range — reported, not yet confirmed

Assault and battery — 3rd degree (simple) Possibly — unconfirmed

Imprisonment
0–30 days
Fine
$0–$500

Class C misdemeanour.

Note on this entry

Verify § 16-3-600(E) against official text.

Statute
S.C. Code Ann. § 16-3-600(E)(1) (assault and battery, 3rd degree)
Official source
Secondary summaries (non-official); official re-check needed
Last verified
2026-10-19
Not legal advice. This range is the statutory penalty as written in the law — it is not “your sentence.” What is NOT accounted for here: Priors, plea, discretion. If you face a real charge, consult a licensed lawyer in the relevant jurisdiction.

Domestic violence Possibly — unconfirmed

Possibly — unconfirmed

Reported range, not yet confirmed against official text. Do not rely on this — awaiting confirmation.

Statutory range — reported, not yet confirmed

Criminal domestic violence — 1st offence Possibly — unconfirmed

Imprisonment
0–30 days
Fine
$1,000–$2,500

Verify.

Criminal domestic violence — 2nd offence Possibly — unconfirmed

Imprisonment
30 days–1 year
Fine
$2,500–$5,000

Verify.

Criminal domestic violence — 3rd offence Possibly — unconfirmed

Imprisonment
1–5 years
Fine
$2,500–$10,000

Verify.

Violation of a protective order (§ 16-25-125) Possibly — unconfirmed

Imprisonment
0–30 days
Fine
Fine not stated

Verify; repeat violations are felonies.

Note on this entry

Criminal domestic violence of a high and aggravated nature (§ 16-25-65): 1–10 years (verify).

Statute
S.C. Code Ann. § 16-25-20 (criminal domestic violence)
Official source
Secondary summaries (non-official); official re-check needed
Last verified
2026-10-19
Not legal advice. This range is the statutory penalty as written in the law — it is not “your sentence.” What is NOT accounted for here: Underlying offence, priors, plea, discretion. If you face a real charge, consult a licensed lawyer in the relevant jurisdiction.

Homicide — manslaughter Possibly — unconfirmed

Possibly — unconfirmed

Reported range, not yet confirmed against official text. Do not rely on this — awaiting confirmation.

Statutory range — reported, not yet confirmed

Voluntary manslaughter — heat of passion Possibly — unconfirmed

Imprisonment
2–30 years
Fine
Fine not stated

Verify.

Involuntary manslaughter — criminal negligence Possibly — unconfirmed

Imprisonment
0–5 years
Fine
Fine not stated

Verify.

Note on this entry

Verify §§ 16-3-50, 16-3-60 against official text.

Statute
S.C. Code Ann. §§ 16-3-50, 16-3-60
Official source
Secondary summaries (non-official); official re-check needed
Last verified
2026-10-19
Not legal advice. This range is the statutory penalty as written in the law — it is not “your sentence.” What is NOT accounted for here: Priors, plea, discretion. If you face a real charge, consult a licensed lawyer in the relevant jurisdiction.

Homicide — murder Possibly — unconfirmed

Possibly — unconfirmed

Reported range, not yet confirmed against official text. Do not rely on this — awaiting confirmation.

Statutory range — reported, not yet confirmed

Murder — malice aforethought Possibly — unconfirmed

Imprisonment
Death, or mandatory minimum 30 years to life
Fine
No fine stated

Life = without parole.

Note on this entry

South Carolina retains the death penalty; execution by electrocution, firing squad, or lethal injection (2021 Act). No execution since 2011. South Carolina has no degrees of murder — murder is a single offence (§ 16-3-10).

Statute
S.C. Code Ann. §§ 16-3-10, 16-3-20
Official source
Secondary summaries (non-official) quoting § 16-3-20; official re-check needed
Last verified
2026-10-19
Not legal advice. This range is the statutory penalty as written in the law — it is not “your sentence.” What is NOT accounted for here: Priors, plea, discretion. If you face a real charge, consult a licensed lawyer in the relevant jurisdiction.

Sexual offences

Sexual assault / rape Possibly — unconfirmed

Possibly — unconfirmed

Reported range, not yet confirmed against official text. Do not rely on this — awaiting confirmation.

Statutory range — reported, not yet confirmed

Criminal sexual conduct — 1st degree (force + aggravators) Possibly — unconfirmed

Imprisonment
0–30 years
Fine
Fine not stated

Verify.

Criminal sexual conduct — 2nd degree (force / incapacity) Possibly — unconfirmed

Imprisonment
0–20 years
Fine
Fine not stated

Verify.

Criminal sexual conduct — 3rd degree (force / threat) Possibly — unconfirmed

Imprisonment
0–10 years
Fine
Fine not stated

Verify.

Note on this entry

Criminal sexual conduct with a minor, 1st degree (§ 16-3-655): 25 years to life (verify). South Carolina does not use the term 'rape' in its code.

Statute
S.C. Code Ann. §§ 16-3-652–16-3-654 (criminal sexual conduct)
Official source
Secondary summaries (non-official); official re-check needed
Last verified
2026-10-19
Not legal advice. This range is the statutory penalty as written in the law — it is not “your sentence.” What is NOT accounted for here: Priors, victim age beyond tier, plea, discretion. If you face a real charge, consult a licensed lawyer in the relevant jurisdiction.

Property

Burglary Verified against official source

Verified against official source

This range was checked against the official legal text.

Statutory range

1st-degree burglary — dwelling + weapon / injury / night / 2+ priors

Imprisonment
Life, or not less than 15 years
Fine
No fine stated

Court may sentence to ≥15 years.

2nd-degree burglary — dwelling, or building + aggravator

Imprisonment
0–10 years
Fine
Fine not stated

Verify.

3rd-degree burglary — building

Imprisonment
0–5 years
Fine
Fine not stated

Verify.

Note on this entry

Burglary 1st degree is an exempt offence under § 16-1-10(D); its penalty is set by § 16-11-311 itself. Burglary 3rd degree (§ 16-11-313): 0–5 years (verify).

Statute
S.C. Code Ann. §§ 16-11-311–16-11-313
Official source
scstatehouse.gov (official) for § 16-11-311
Last verified
2026-10-19
Not legal advice. This range is the statutory penalty as written in the law — it is not “your sentence.” What is NOT accounted for here: Priors, plea, discretion. If you face a real charge, consult a licensed lawyer in the relevant jurisdiction.

Robbery Possibly — unconfirmed

Possibly — unconfirmed

Reported range, not yet confirmed against official text. Do not rely on this — awaiting confirmation.

Statutory range — reported, not yet confirmed

Common-law robbery (§ 16-11-325) Possibly — unconfirmed

Imprisonment
0–15 years
Fine
Fine not stated

Verify.

Armed robbery — deadly weapon (§ 16-11-330) Possibly — unconfirmed

Imprisonment
10–30 years
Fine
Fine not stated

10-year mandatory minimum; verify.

Note on this entry

Verify §§ 16-11-325, 16-11-330 against official text.

Statute
S.C. Code Ann. §§ 16-11-325, 16-11-330
Official source
Secondary summaries (non-official); official re-check needed
Last verified
2026-10-19
Not legal advice. This range is the statutory penalty as written in the law — it is not “your sentence.” What is NOT accounted for here: Priors, plea, discretion. If you face a real charge, consult a licensed lawyer in the relevant jurisdiction.

Theft Possibly — unconfirmed

Possibly — unconfirmed

Reported range, not yet confirmed against official text. Do not rely on this — awaiting confirmation.

Statutory range — reported, not yet confirmed

Value under $2,000 Possibly — unconfirmed

Imprisonment
0–30 days
Fine
$0–$1,000

Misdemeanour; verify.

Value $2,000 to $10,000 Possibly — unconfirmed

Imprisonment
0–5 years
Fine
$0–$5,000

Felony; verify.

Value over $10,000 Possibly — unconfirmed

Imprisonment
0–10 years
Fine
$0–$10,000

Felony; verify.

Note on this entry

Verify § 16-13-30 against official text.

Statute
S.C. Code Ann. § 16-13-30 (stealing / larceny)
Official source
Secondary summaries (non-official); official re-check needed
Last verified
2026-10-19
Not legal advice. This range is the statutory penalty as written in the law — it is not “your sentence.” What is NOT accounted for here: Priors, restitution, plea, discretion. If you face a real charge, consult a licensed lawyer in the relevant jurisdiction.

Vandalism / criminal damage Possibly — unconfirmed

Possibly — unconfirmed

Reported range, not yet confirmed against official text. Do not rely on this — awaiting confirmation.

Statutory range — reported, not yet confirmed

Damage under $1,000 Possibly — unconfirmed

Imprisonment
0–30 days
Fine
$0–$1,000

Misdemeanour; verify.

Damage $1,000 to $10,000 Possibly — unconfirmed

Imprisonment
0–5 years
Fine
$0–$5,000

Felony; verify.

Damage over $10,000 Possibly — unconfirmed

Imprisonment
0–10 years
Fine
$0–$10,000

Felony; verify.

Note on this entry

Verify § 16-11-520 against official text.

Statute
S.C. Code Ann. § 16-11-520 (malicious injury to property)
Official source
Secondary summaries (non-official); official re-check needed
Last verified
2026-10-19
Not legal advice. This range is the statutory penalty as written in the law — it is not “your sentence.” What is NOT accounted for here: Priors, plea, discretion, restitution. If you face a real charge, consult a licensed lawyer in the relevant jurisdiction.

Fraud & financial

Fraud Possibly — unconfirmed

Possibly — unconfirmed

Reported range, not yet confirmed against official text. Do not rely on this — awaiting confirmation.

Statutory range — reported, not yet confirmed

Value under $2,000 Possibly — unconfirmed

Imprisonment
0–30 days
Fine
$0–$1,000

Misdemeanour; verify.

Value $2,000 to $10,000 Possibly — unconfirmed

Imprisonment
0–5 years
Fine
$0–$5,000

Felony; verify.

Value over $10,000 Possibly — unconfirmed

Imprisonment
0–10 years
Fine
$0–$10,000

Felony; verify.

Note on this entry

Verify § 16-13-240 against official text.

Statute
S.C. Code Ann. § 16-13-240 (false pretences)
Official source
Secondary summaries (non-official); official re-check needed
Last verified
2026-10-19
Not legal advice. This range is the statutory penalty as written in the law — it is not “your sentence.” What is NOT accounted for here: Loss beyond tier, priors, plea, discretion. If you face a real charge, consult a licensed lawyer in the relevant jurisdiction.

Drugs

Drug possession Possibly — unconfirmed

Possibly — unconfirmed

Reported range, not yet confirmed against official text. Do not rely on this — awaiting confirmation.

Statutory range — reported, not yet confirmed

Sch I/II narcotic — 1st offence Possibly — unconfirmed

Imprisonment
0–2 years
Fine
$0–$5,000

Verify.

Sch I/II narcotic — 2nd offence Possibly — unconfirmed

Imprisonment
0–5 years
Fine
$0–$5,000

Verify.

Other Sch I/II/III/IV — 1st offence Possibly — unconfirmed

Imprisonment
0–6 months
Fine
$0–$1,000

Verify.

Sch V — 1st offence Possibly — unconfirmed

Imprisonment
0–6 months
Fine
$0–$500

Verify.

Marijuana ≤1 oz — 1st offence Possibly — unconfirmed

Imprisonment
0–30 days
Fine
$0–$200
Note on this entry

Marijuana ≤1 oz: 1st offence 0–30 days / $0–$200; 2nd+ 0–1 year / $0–$1,000. Methamphetamine/cocaine base <1 g: 1st is a misdemeanour 0–3 years / $0–$5,000 (§ 44-53-375(A)). Verify § 44-53-370(d) against official text.

Statute
S.C. Code Ann. § 44-53-370(d)
Official source
scstatehouse.gov (official) for § 44-53-375; secondary summaries for § 44-53-370(d)
Last verified
2026-10-19
Not legal advice. This range is the statutory penalty as written in the law — it is not “your sentence.” What is NOT accounted for here: Priors beyond tier, intent, plea, discretion. If you face a real charge, consult a licensed lawyer in the relevant jurisdiction.

Drug trafficking / sale Possibly — unconfirmed

Possibly — unconfirmed

Reported range, not yet confirmed against official text. Do not rely on this — awaiting confirmation.

Statutory range — reported, not yet confirmed

Trafficking — marijuana 10–100 lb — 1st offence Possibly — unconfirmed

Imprisonment
1–10 years
Fine
$10,000

Trafficking — cocaine 10–28 g — 1st offence Possibly — unconfirmed

Imprisonment
3–10 years
Fine
$25,000

Verify.

Trafficking — methamphetamine / cocaine base 10–28 g — 1st offence Possibly — unconfirmed

Imprisonment
3–10 years
Fine
$25,000

Verify.

Trafficking — heroin / morphine / opium 4–14 g — 1st offence Possibly — unconfirmed

Imprisonment
7–25 years
Fine
$50,000

Verify.

Note on this entry

Distribution (non-trafficking) under § 44-53-370(a): Sch I/II narcotic 1st 0–15 years / $0–$25,000, 2nd 5–30 years / $0–$50,000, 3rd+ 10–30 years / $0–$50,000. Meth/cocaine base distribution (§ 44-53-375(B)): 1st 0–15 years / $0–$25,000; 2nd 5–30 years / $0–$50,000; 3rd+ 10–30 years / $0–$50,000. Trafficking minimums cannot be suspended.

Statute
S.C. Code Ann. §§ 44-53-370(e), 44-53-375(C)
Official source
scstatehouse.gov (official) for § 44-53-375(A)–(B); firm summary for § 44-53-370(e) first tiers
Last verified
2026-10-19
Not legal advice. This range is the statutory penalty as written in the law — it is not “your sentence.” What is NOT accounted for here: Priors beyond tier, quantity, plea, discretion. If you face a real charge, consult a licensed lawyer in the relevant jurisdiction.

Weapons

Weapons offences Possibly — unconfirmed

Possibly — unconfirmed

Reported range, not yet confirmed against official text. Do not rely on this — awaiting confirmation.

Statutory range — reported, not yet confirmed

Possession of a firearm by a person convicted of a violent crime Possibly — unconfirmed

Imprisonment
0–5 years
Fine
$0–$2,000

Verify.

Note on this entry

Verify § 16-23-500 against official text.

Statute
S.C. Code Ann. § 16-23-500 (possession of firearm by a person convicted of a violent crime)
Official source
Secondary summaries (non-official); official re-check needed
Last verified
2026-10-19
Not legal advice. This range is the statutory penalty as written in the law — it is not “your sentence.” What is NOT accounted for here: Priors, plea, discretion. If you face a real charge, consult a licensed lawyer in the relevant jurisdiction.

Traffic & transport

DUI / drink driving Possibly — unconfirmed

Possibly — unconfirmed

Reported range, not yet confirmed against official text. Do not rely on this — awaiting confirmation.

Statutory range — reported, not yet confirmed

1st offence Possibly — unconfirmed

Imprisonment
48 hours–30 days (or 48 hours public service)
Fine
$400

Verify.

2nd offence Possibly — unconfirmed

Imprisonment
5 days–1 year
Fine
$2,100–$5,100

Verify.

3rd offence Possibly — unconfirmed

Imprisonment
60 days–3 years
Fine
$3,800–$6,300

Verify.

4th or subsequent offence Possibly — unconfirmed

Imprisonment
1–5 years
Fine
$10,000

Felony; verify fine.

Note on this entry

Verify §§ 56-5-2930, 56-5-2933 against official text. Felony DUI (4th+) is § 56-5-2945 (death/serious injury).

Statute
S.C. Code Ann. §§ 56-5-2930, 56-5-2933
Official source
Secondary summaries (non-official); official re-check needed
Last verified
2026-10-19
Not legal advice. This range is the statutory penalty as written in the law — it is not “your sentence.” What is NOT accounted for here: Priors beyond tier, BAC, minor passenger, plea, discretion. If you face a real charge, consult a licensed lawyer in the relevant jurisdiction.

Cyber & digital

Cybercrime / hacking Possibly — unconfirmed

Possibly — unconfirmed

Reported range, not yet confirmed against official text. Do not rely on this — awaiting confirmation.

Statutory range — reported, not yet confirmed

Unauthorised access / computer crime — 1st offence Possibly — unconfirmed

Imprisonment
0–1 year
Fine
$0–$5,000

Misdemeanour — VERIFY.

Computer crime — 2nd offence / damage over threshold Possibly — unconfirmed

Imprisonment
0–5 years
Fine
$0–$50,000

Felony — VERIFY threshold and range.

Note on this entry

South Carolina Computer Crime Act is §§ 16-16-10–16-16-40. Tier details below were NOT verified against official text — verify § 16-16-20 before publishing.

Statute
S.C. Code Ann. § 16-16-20 (computer crime)
Official source
Secondary summaries (non-official); official re-check needed
Last verified
2026-10-19
Not legal advice. This range is the statutory penalty as written in the law — it is not “your sentence.” What is NOT accounted for here: Loss beyond tier, priors, plea, discretion. If you face a real charge, consult a licensed lawyer in the relevant jurisdiction.